Playlist- Hip Hop Yoga, or how I got over…

After last week’s post, I got a lot of feedback, both in person and on line about my post about music in yoga class.  A few people got the impression that I’m somehow anti-hip hop yoga.  (Or HHY, as it’s coming to be known.)  Not so- it’s just that given the nature of the media, I think it’s a place where as a teacher, you’re called to be extra mindful.  Here’s a hip-hop based playlist I made awhile back.  Hopefully, some obvious choices and some less obvious ones.  Enjoy!

A Peace Of Light 1:50 The Roots Feat. Amber Coffman, Angel Deradoorian & Haley Dekle How I Got Over

Ain’t No Sunshine 2:03 Bill Withers Best Of Bill Withers: Lean On Me

The Womb 1:26 Me’Shell Ndegéocello Peace Beyond Passion

Playa Playa 7:07 D’Angelo Voodoo

The Fire 3:41 The Roots Feat. John Legend How I Got Over (Explicit)

Me Myself And I 3:50 De La Soul 3 Feet High And Rising

The Way You Move 3:54 Big Boi Feat. Sleepy Brown Speakerboxxx

I Come Prepared 4:09 K’naan & Damian Marley Troubadour

B-Boy Stance 4:00 K-OS Joyful Rebellion

Get By 3:47 Talib Kweli Quality

Sacrifice 4:45 The Roots Phrenology

Classic (Better Than I’ve Ever Been DJ Premier Remix) 4:43 Kanye West, KRS-One, Nas & Rakim Better Than I’ve Ever Been

We Trying to Stay Alive 3:12 Wyclef Jean Wyclef Jean Presents the Carnival

Tightrope (feat. Big Boi) 4:49 Janelle Monáe Tightrope (feat. Big Boi) – Single

quintenmack Meshell Ndegeocello Live @ B.B. King’s, NYC 10.24.03

UMI Says Mos Def Black On Both Sides Hip-Hop/Rap

Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You 3:42 Lauryn Hill The Miseducation Of Lauryn Hill

Ecclesiastes: Free My Heart 5:22 Me’Shell Ndegéocello Peace Beyond Passion

Higher 5:28 D’Angelo Brown Sugar

Stolen Moments (Telefon Tel Aviv Remix) 5:31 Oliver Nelson Remixes Compiled

Circa 4:21 Michael Cain Circa

(In case you haven’t noticed, I am an enormous Meshell fan. The live track was an online bonus for her Comfort Woman record of a few years back.  There’s a fair amount of bootleg stuff in online groups if you look.  She’s someone who is 200% better live.  And if you’re STILL sleeping on her, well, I don’t know what to tell you…)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Playlist- Hip Hop Yoga, or how I got over…

  1. Are you familiar with MC Yogi? Rap for the yoga geek… Featuring such big names as Krishna Das and Jai Uttal, with tracks like “Ganesh is Fresh” and “Rock on Hanuman.” The first time I heard this, I laughed so hard I cried, but then I started to really enjoy. Check it out! 🙂

    http://www.amazon.com/Elephant-Power-MC-Yogi/dp/B001CISIKI/ref=pd_ys_ir_m_5

Leave a Reply

