Playlist- Prana Acoustic 9/11/11

Last week I asked the hivemind how a yoga class should address 9/11.  I appreciate the public and private responses.  This is mine- this is the playlist from my acoustic class, but a lot of this music showed up in all of my classes on 9/11.

I should preface this by telling you my own relationship to 9/11.  I moved back to Boston from New York the last week of August 2001.  After living there for three years, I was starting grad school back in Boston.  I was preparing for a seating audition (don’t ask) early Tuesday morning, 9/11, and saw the second plane hit the tower on the TV of the student lounge at New England Conservatory.  I took my audition (one of the two worst of my life) and then went home on the subway.  Boston was the quietest I’d ever seen it.  The following Sunday, I played a long-planned gig at the Knitting Factory, about ten blocks from Ground Zero.  My band had to go through a national guard checkpoint, and you could still see the smoke coming out of the ground down there.  The whole experience was more than a little surreal.  I was very lucky not to lose anyone I knew that day, but those images, especially walking around down there, certainly left their imprint on me.

I wanted to mark the occasion but not beat it to death.  And certainly not turn it into any kind of “rah rah America” event.  While I continue to be angry and horrified by the events of that day and all of the terrorist events that have followed, I am almost as horrified by many of the actions the American government has and does take in response.  (I’ll spare you further political rant)

So, I tried to find that balance in the music; a lot of this music resonates with me on that date for specific reasons.  Sonny Rollins is probably the jazz musician most associated with 9/11, as his apartment is only a few blocks from where the World Trade Center stood.   “Song for the Boys”, written for the troops, if from Pat Metheny’s musical response to 9/11.  I can’t think of any musicians that personify the American aspirations than Ellington and Coltrane.  “Lift Every Voice” is often called the Black National Anthem, and personally I’d take it over the Star Spangled any day; it’s easier to sing, for one.  Charlie Haden is one of music’s most passionate pacifist activists, and was studying and recording third world protest music long before it was trendy.  And Paul Simon’s performance on the first episode of Saturday Night Live (which I watched in a bar in NYC) is still seared into my brain.   I hope the rest are self-explanitory, and thankfully, in real time it all seemed to work.  Enjoy:

Fljótavík 3:49 Sigur Rós                 Með Suð Í Eyrum Við Spilum Endalaust

Most Precious One 2:51 Brian Blade & The Fellowship Band    Season of Changes

Something Beautiful 5:14 Alexi Murdoch unreleased (it’s on Youtube, of course)

Rabo De Nube 5:27 Charlie Haden                Liberation Music Orchestra: Dream Keeper

Stay Human 4:43 Michael Franti                    Songs From The Front Porch

Song For The Boys 4:32 Pat Metheny             One Quiet Night

Say 3:50    John Mayer

St. Thomas 6:49 Sonny Rollins                              Saxophone Colussus

Half of What We Know 4:03 Crooked Still          Some Strange Country

Angelica 6:05 Duke Ellington & John Coltrane

Love And Blessings 4:18 Paul Simon          So Beautiful Or So What

Never Broken (E.S.P.) 5:14 Cassandra Wilson            Traveling Miles

Someone Else’s Life 3:31 Joshua Radin          We Were Here

Lift Every Voice and Sing 8:16 Orrin Evans   Live In Jackson, Mississippi “White Boy You Don’t Know Nothin’ Bout No Barbeque”

Grace 4:27 Me’Shell Ndegéocello Bitter

All In a Day 3:03 The Open Sea   Little Apple – EP

Peace Piece 6:43 Bill Evans          Everybody Digs Bill Evans

One Day I’ll Fly Away 4:19 Keith Jarrett & Charlie Haden    Jasmine

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Playlist- Prana Acoustic 9/11/11

  1. love the Alexi murdoch song! gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

