Changes

It is with very mixed feelings that I have to announce that as of tomorrow (May 1) I will no longer be teaching at Prana Power Yoga.  I started at Prana about three years ago, and in that time I have been blessed with so many wonderful students and peers, and have learned so much both as a teacher and as a person.  I feel very lucky to have found both the successes, and frankly the failures that come with trying to teach this form of yoga authentically, safely, and truly powerfully. (not just because the word power is on the awning.)

All of that said, it has become increasingly clear that my teaching is evolving in a way that no longer fits what Prana wants of its teachers, so it’s time to move on.  While I am sad to leave, I am excited about new opportunities coming in the near future.  I plan to announce new offerings over the next several weeks; for the time being the rest of my schedule at South Boston Yoga, Equinox, Spirit Bear and elsewhere remains the same. (the schedule on my website is current)

For reasons cosmic or otherwise, it seems that grand change is in the air; I feel like just about everyone I know is in the middle of a profound life change, most of which we weren’t exactly planning for in the near term.  One of my teachers was talking about this in a workshop recently, and what he said really struck me.  Transition is inevitable, how we transition is a choice, and a critical one.  One of the beautiful things about teaching yoga that emphasizes flow is that the work is as much in the transitions as in the poses.  Joy in life is a moving target, so in transition we are invited to move with it.  I wish you joy in your current transitions, and ask for your prayers and blessings in mine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changes

  1. Natasha Mckenzie-Martin says:

    Good for you for standing true to who you are and how you want to teach! I’ll miss your classes though. I was looking forward to starting up again at prana soon. ( I’m a reverse yogini- I hole up with my home practice in the cold weather, and come out to play in classes during the warm weather. ) Good luck and I hope to see you on the mat in the future!

    Namaste,
    Tasha

Leave a Reply

