Simmer down- Hip Hop Flow Playlist, Equinox Back Bay 7/25/12

This past Wednesday I got a call at the last minute to sub for the (now this year’s Boston Magazine “best yoga instructor”) Goldie Kaufenberg for one of her hip-hop classes.  I will admit, subbing for BoBs doesn’t phase me (done it for four of them now), but hip-hop playlists do.  I love the music and the culture a lot (see this post), but a little from the outside, and try to mix giving props with making it fun is surprisingly stressful.  Here’s what I came up with this time:

A Peace Of Light  The Roots  How I Got Over

Time Travelin’ (A Tribute To Fela) Common Like Water For Chocolate

Testify Kayne West Late Registration

I Come Prepared 4:09 K’naan & Damian Marley Troubadour

Quiet Dog 2:57 Mos Def The Ecstatic

Strong Will Continue 6:01 NaS & Damian Marley Distant Relatives

Reach Out (feat. Mary J. Blige) 3:47 Nas Life Is Good

Tightrope (Wondamix) [feat. B.o.B and Lupe Fiasco] 3:23 Janelle Monáe Tightrope

I Try 4:25 Talib Kweli & Mary J. Blige The Beautiful Struggle

Sacrifice 4:45 The Roots Phrenology

Right On 3:36 The Roots Feat. Joanna Newsom & STS How I Got Over

Believe (feat. D’Angelo) 2:57 Q-Tip The Renaissance

Ecclesiastes: Free My Heart 5:22 Me’Shell Ndegéocello Peace Beyond Passion

Currency 5:57 No Sale Value Nu Currency

A few notes: yes, the last tune is from my band, and you can buy the music here.  Like, now; if you buy from my host CDBaby this week, they’re waving the fees they usually take.  And I’m still very proud of this record- folks in the band went on to play with Norah Jones, some of the top producers in Europe, and on Broadway in “Fela: The Musical”.  (The real Fela is sampled on the Mos Def track.  I had no idea- happy coincidence)

– I’m currently obsessed with Mos Def.  Here is a great television version of “Quiet Dog”.  (I’ve now linked to two amazing hip-hop performances on… Letterman.  Who’da thunk it?)

– The Nas is from the new album.  As of now, count me disappointed…  alas.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

