Hurricane Sandy benefit classes- come and give!

I had a post-mortem on the election, but that can wait…

No doubt everyone has seen, and most of us have been touched by the devastation that Hurricane Sandy left just south of us Bostonians last week.  Personally, my sister-in-laws parents and one of the beloved NYC AcroYoga teachers lost everything in the flooding that accompanied Sandy.  More broadly, in many part of New York and New Jersey power is not back, and the need is staggering.

I can’t do much from here, but I can do something.  So I’m pleased to announce two benefit classes in the next month, primarily benefitting the Red Cross, but also my sister-in-law’s family.  One will be next Sunday (11/18, 1pm) at South Boston Yoga, with my friend and new colleague Tiffany O’Connell, and the lovely sitarist Sonny Lalachandani.  In December I’ve shifted my previously announced “Amazeballs” workshop at the Breathing Room, to a benefit.  The details and sign-up are here.  My sister-in-law’s family has also set up a fund specifically for her parents- the link is here. and I’m sure there are dozens like them.  Give big.  

Ultimately, I don’t believe the power of our practice should be measured by what poses we can do or how long we can hold a meditation, but instead on how we manifest our practice in the world, our seva, service.  This is one small place and time to bring that to the fore.

I hope if you’re able you’ll join us next Sunday.  If not, please consider making a gift on your own.  I picked the Red Cross because of their tremendous infrastructure and track record- give here. My sister-in-law’s family has also set up a fund specifically for her parents- the link is here. and I’m sure there are dozens like them.  Give big, and thanks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

