Decoding yoga anatomy- (aka come to my workshop Saturday!)

This weekend, for the second time, I’ll kick off a series of teacher development workshops at the Breathing Room in Cambridge.  I wrote about these back in August, and I was very happy for the most part with how they turned out; we had a small, really insightful group of students, and covered a lot of ground.  (You can read what students said here.)  Saturday’s workshop is a workshop of practical anatomy called The Yoga Body…

A year into teaching, I took a second teacher training, then a year later a third.( with David Vendetti and Jill Miller, respectively) I realized that the training I’d had was woefully short on functional anatomy, the logistical hows and whys of a yogasana practice.   (This is not unique; Yoga Alliance, the primary body setting standards for teacher trainings, only requires 5 hours of classroom anatomy.  That’s barely the first week of a college A&P class)  I could tell people what to do with varying levels of clarity, but I couldn’t necessarily articulate (or even process) why, other than because “that’s how I learned it”.  That’s never a good enough answer.

I knew both David and Jill will likely forget more about anatomy than I’ll ever retain, and I like both of them immensely, so I trained more.  But, as is often the way, that training made me realize how much more there is to discover, and it’ll be that way probably forever.  And for me, the best way to gain and retain this stuff is to make sure I’m sharing it.  I’m glad that I’m not alone- there are more anatomy and physiology workshops taught by yoga teachers for yoga teachers emerging; locally I know that Chanel Luck and Alex Amorosi offer longer workshops with very different approaches, but the same goals.

My focus this weekend is on how a better understanding of the nuts and bolts (or in this case muscle and fascia) can practically assist young teachers in leading a class- sequencing smartly, seeing the unique bodies they are presented with and speaking  to those bodies, physically and energetically, with some authority.  I try to steer clear of the weeds, however fascinating, that can swallow up an anatomical conversation and focus on what can help teachers the next time they teach.

Sign up is here- there’s still some space!  I hope you’ll join us!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

